Area Schools

Area Schools

The Champaign-Urbana area is served by the Unit 4 School District (Champaign) and the Unit 116 School District (Urbana), as well as a number of private schools.

Champaign Public Schools

The Unit 4 Champaign School District consists of an early childhood center, 12 elementary schools, three middle schools, and two high schools. In addition, high school students may also elect to apply to the Novak Academy alternative high school program or University of Illinois Laboratory High School located on the U of I campus.

The Champaign Early Childhood Center offers classes to children in need of pre-K services. The Center works to ensure that students develop the academic, social, and emotional skills needed to succeed in school. A screening process identifies children who qualify for the program.

Elementary Schools in the district include Barkstall Elementary, Booker T. Washington Elementary, Bottenfield Elementary, Carrie Busey Elementary, Dr. Howard Elementary, Garden Hills Elementary, Kenwood Elementary, Robeson Elementary, South Side Elementary, Stratton Elementary, Westview Elementary, and the International Prep Academy (which focuses on Spanish-English Dual and Bilingual Education).

Unit 4’s middle schools are Edision Middle School, Franklin Middle School, and Jefferson Middle school. These facilities serve grades 6, 7, and 8.

Centennial High School and Central High School are the district’s two main high school facilities. Novak Academy is a smaller alternative high school program for non-traditional students, and offers support for students to overcome previous barriers to success.

Champaign Unit 4 is a School of Choice district. Elementary and Middle School student may request to attend any of the district schools, provided there is space at their preferred school. For more information on Unit 4 schools, visit their website.

Urbana Public Schools

The Unit 116 Urbana School District is home to Urbana Early Childhood Center, six elementary schools, Urbana Middle School and Urbana High School.

The Urbana Early Childhood Center provides services to pre-school aged children who have delays in development or disabilities. Children enrolled at Urbana Early Childhood School have been identified through a screening and assessment process as needing either Special Education Services or Preschool Readiness Experience. The Center teaches communication, social, and thinking skills to prepare at-risk children for transition into the school system.

Elementary schools in the district include Leal Elementary, Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary, Prairie Elementary, Thomas Paine Elementary, Wiley Elementary, and Yankee Ridge Elementary. Children residing in the Stone Creek and Cobble Creek Subdivision attend Thomas Paine Elementary. For additional information on school attendance areas, visit the Unit 116 website.

Urbana Middle School and Urbana High School serve all students in the district.

University of Illinois Laboratory High School

University Laboratory High School, locally known as Uni High, is a selective admission, public laboratory school sanctioned by the State of Illinois and associated with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The school serves academically talented students, residing in Illinois, from the sub-freshman level (combined 7th and 8th grades) through high school. The school is notable for the achievements of its alumni, including three Nobel laureates and a Pulitzer Prize winner.

For more information on Uni High, visit their web site.

Area Private Schools

In addition to the public schools, Champaign-Urbana is home to a number of private schools: